My first blog post

23 Apr

So it seemed an appropriate time to start a blog, because a lot of my job is focused around social media and it seems somewhat questionable to encourage others to blog when I’m not doing it!

It’s only when you open your first post that you realise how hard this is, so my first post will just be about me (interesting I know)!

My full name is Nicholas David Cornwell, I’m 21 years old and a business management and marketing student at Nottingham Trent University. I’m also an IBM Industrial Trainee in a marketing role at IBM Hursley.

I think that’s about enough about me, I’m hoping as the blog develops it will show more about me!

So I recently came across this VW advert but what is it an advert for?

You could (rightly so) say that this is an advert for a car, because it is quite literally advertising a car. Conversely, I found it a much more impressive advert for VW and for their marketing team.

This video, which I personally am more likely to find than the images shown in the ad, fully demonstrates how ‘outside-the-box’ they are and what a vibrant, fun and interesting place VW would be to be in partnership with as a customer, reseller, employee, car enthusiast and any other stakeholder you can think of.

So for this kind of exercise, would it actually increase sales for the car? Maybe.

Does it find a clever way to get around googles paid ads?
Potentially – but you need a specific search terms.

Would it make people want to get more connected with this kind of company?
For me – definitely.
So for what it’s worth – well done VW.

2 Responses to “My first blog post”

  1. j0nnymac May 9, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

    Epic post that man!

    Yep. Remember the Cadburys advert that had the purple gorilla playing the drums? Nothing to do with choccy but I still remember the ad (and the chocolate AND the brand!)

    I think those ad’s are sometimes the most powerful particularly as they are not logical or rational.

    Hey – you think the ‘no good deed’ thing is strange…check out the arguments against free will. That seriously had me going…

    • nickcornwell1991 May 30, 2013 at 3:08 pm #

      I guess a lot of it can come back to everyone having enough knowledge about your brand so that if you post a random advert – people will still know what to go and buy!!

      I’ll have a look at those free will arguments though – sounds interesting!

      sorry for the super-late reply though – only just realised about this ‘approving’ comments and whatnot!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

